Personal tools
Document Actions

ME Students Win First Place in ASHRAE Student Design Competition

ME Students Win First Place in ASHRAE Student Design Competition

Mansueto Regenstein Library U of Chicago


A UC ME/AET design team won first place in the American Society of Heating, Air-conditioning, and Refrigeration Engineers - ASHRAE - student design competition.

This year's design challenge in the Integrated Sustainable Building Design category was to consider a sustainable and energy-efficient ("net-zero" energy goals) re-design of the hemi-elliptical, glass-domed building for the Joe and Rika Mansueto Library.

The competition was international in scope and the UC team bested the other 8 teams that made it to the national level  In addition to the honor of a first place finish the team will receive $2,000 and the opportunity to present their design at the ASHRAE winter meeting in Dallas, Texas in January, 2013.

Congratulations to team members: Dustin Altschul - AET, Prathamesh Chakradeo - ME, Ravik Chandra - ME, Saikrishna Ganesan - ME, Timothy Hertel - ME, Varun Krishnan - ME, Charles Stratton - ME. 

Also, our thanks to Professor Raj Manglik, ASHRAE team advisor, who founded the student chapter here in 1993 and who has been leading its activities ever since.  In his own words, "Needless to say that I am delighted at this success. For the students, it is a great achievement and a fulfilling culmination of a wonderful learning experience."