Personal tools
Document Actions

Professor Emeritus Dave Brown Wins SEM Award

sem-award.jpgThe Society of Experimental Mechanics (SEM) again has chosen to recognize Professor Brown for his accomplishments during his research and academic career by honoring him with the M.M. Frocht Award. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics.” This year’s presentation was made by SEM President Jose Freire at the Honors and Awards Luncheon held at the International Modal Analysis Conference (IMAC) in Orlando, Florida on February 2, 2005. The Frocht Award was also announced at the Honors and Awards Luncheon held at the SEM Annual Conference in Portland, Oregon on June 8, 2005.

The following is a little background on the award. The M.M. Frocht Award was established in 1967 to honor Mr. Max Mark Frocht for his professional accomplishments by the Society of Experimental Mechanics. The award recognizes “outstanding achievement as an educator in the field of experimental mechanics,” and is presented annually to the “Educator of the Year.

”Dr. Frocht’s work on photoelasticity research on stress concentration factors and 3-D techniques and his twovolume  treatise on photoelasticity is considered a classic and has been translated into Russian, Spanish, and Chinese. Dr. Frocht was a student of Steven Timoshenko and many of his own students have made important contributions to the field of experimental mechanics. He presented papers and lectures on photoelasticity and experimental stress analysis in all parts of the world.

Dr. Brown has previously been recognized by the Society of Experimental Mechanics. Dr. Brown was honored with the B.J. Lazan Award in 1987 for “outstanding original technical contributions to experimental mechanics” and by the D.J. DeMichele Award for “exemplary service and support of promoting the science and educational aspects of modal analysis technology” in 1992. The Society for Experimental Mechanics, originally called

The Society for Experimental Stress Analysis, was founded in 1943 as a nonprofit scientific and educational organization with the original goal to “further the knowledge of stress and strain analysis and related technologies.” In the years since its founding, SEM has continued to adapt itself to the needs of the members in the experimental mechanics community. The members of SEM encompass a unique group of experimentalists, development engineers, design engineers, test engineers and technicians, and research and development scientists from industry and educational institutions. More information about SEM and its awards can be found at the Society’s Web site (