Personal tools
Document Actions

Professor Teik Lim honored with 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award

WARRENDALE, Pa. (July 27, 2005) -Dr. De-Guang Shang, Dr. Mark E. Barkey, Dr. Yi Wang and Dr. Teik C. Lim were selected to receive the 2003 Arch T. Colwell Merit Award. The award was presented at the Honors Convocation Luncheon during the SAE 2005 World Congress in Detroit, Michigan on April 12, 2005.

This award, established in 1965, annually recognizes the authors of papers of outstanding technical or professional merit presented at a meeting of the Society or any of its sections during the calendar year. Papers are judged primarily for their value as new contributions to existing knowledge of mobility engineering. The award was funded by the late Arch T. Colwell, who served SAE in many capacities for nearly 50 years, including a term as president in 1941. Eleven papers were selected for this year’s honor, among them is the paper authored by the team listed above: "Fatigue Damage and Dynamic Natural Frequency Response of Spot-Welded Joints" (2003-01-0695).

Dr. Teik C. Lim is a professor of mechanical engineering at the University of Cincinnati, where he directs the Vibro-Acoustics and Sound Quality Research Laboratory. He also leads an industrially-sponsored research consortium for right-angle gear dynamics/noise with an emphasis on automotive applications. Dr. Lim has published more than 100 technical papers in machinery noise and vibration control, automotive NVH, gear dynamics, sound quality design, and active control, including numerous SAE conference and journal papers. He is a past recipient of the SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award (2002), the American Society of Engineering Educator’s (ASEE) Beer and Johnston Outstanding Mechanics Educator Award (2001), and the ASEE New Faculty Research First Place Award (2001), among others. Dr. Lim is a registered professional engineer, and associate editor for the Journal of Mechanical Design. He also serves on the editorial board of the International Journal of Vehicle Noise and Vibration, SAE Noise and Vibration Committee, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ (ASME) Power Transmission and Gearing Committee, and the INCE Technical Activities Board, where he presently chairs the Experimental Techniques and Instrumentation committee. In addition to being a member of ASME, SAE and INCE, he also holds membership in ASEE, AHS, SEM, IIAV, ASA, Tau Beta Pi and Phi Eta Sigma. Dr. Lim received his bachelor’s degree from Michigan Technological University, his master’s from the University of Missouri-Rolla and his doctorate from The Ohio State University, all in mechanical engineering.

For more information go to SAE International website.