Personal tools
Document Actions

Professor Urmila Ghia elected Fellow of AIAA


For immediate release
Contact: Carol Stewart 703/264-7623



11 November 2005 [Reston, Virginia] – The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is proud to announce the election of the 2006 Honorary Fellows and Fellows. Presentation of the new Honorary Fellows and Fellows will take place at the Aerospace Spotlight Awards Gala on 25 April 2006 at the Renaissance Washington Hotel in Washington, D.C.

Presented only to exceptional individuals who embody the highest standards possible in the aeronautics and astronautics field, Honorary Fellow is the highest accolade that can be bestowed by AIAA and its Board of Directors. Those chosen are recognized as being individuals of eminence with long and contributory careers in aerospace. The 2006 Honorary Fellows are:

Donald Fraser, Boston University
Michael Griffin, NASA Headquarters
Alan Mulally, The Boeing Company

The distinction of “Fellow” is bestowed by AIAA and its Board of Directors to members who have made notable and valuable contributions to the arts, sciences, or technology thereof in aeronautics or astronautics. The 2006 Fellows are:



 Harold Andrews, CENTRA Technology, Inc.
Mark Ardema, Santa Clara University
Thomas Brooks, NASA Langley Research Center
Aditi Chattopadhyay, Arizona State University
Tsu-Wei Chou, University of Delaware
Werner Dahm, University of Michigan
L. Porter Davis, Honeywell International
James Driscoll, University of Michigan
Bonnie Dunbar, Museum of Flight-Seattle
Urmila Ghia, University of Cincinnati
Sivaram Gogineni, Innovative Scientific Solutions, Inc.
Fred Hadaegh, Jet Propulsion Laboratory
Grover Hall, Lockheed Martin Space Systems Company
Hassan Hassan, North Carolina State University
Fei-Bin Hsiao, National Cheng Kung University-Taiwan
 Thomas Hughes, University of Texas at Austin
Robert Jones, Virginia Polytechnic Inst & State University
Lyle Long, Pennsylvania State University
Hassan Nagib, Illinois Institute of Technology
George Nield, Federal Aviation Administration
Anthony Palazotto, Air Force Institute of Technology
Kevin Petersen, NASA Dryden Flight Research Center
Michael Popp, Pratt & Whitney Space Propulsion
Jayant Sabnis, Pratt & Whitney
L. Parker Temple, The Aerospace Corporation
Susumu Toda, Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency
John Tracy, Boeing Integrated Defense Systems
Ian Waitz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tanchum Weller, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Richard Wlezien, NASA Headquarters

In 1933, Orville Wright became AIAA’s first Honorary Fellow and today, AIAA’s Honorary Fellows and Fellows are the most respected names in the aerospace industry. The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics advances the state of aerospace science, engineering, and technological leadership. Headquartered in suburban Washington, DC, the Institute serves over 35,000 members in 65 regional sections and 79 countries. AIAA membership is drawn from all levels of industry, academia, private research organizations, and government. For more information contact Carol Stewart, AIAA Honors and Awards Liaison, or 703/264-7623.